Train to Simon’s Town

I finally stopped talking about it and actually did it. I took a train to Simon’s Town; ate some fish and chips; browsed some shops; and went for a swim.

Over New Years I had some wonderful friends visiting so it was the perfect time to try it out as a tourist thing.

As soon as we got off the train it felt like being in a completely different world filled with Naval ships; old buildings along the main road; and little shops that made me cross the road to not be tempted in.

What I enjoyed the most was that the train. It was only R12 each return (standard rate not first class) and took about an hour. I think I’ll be doing this more often. If anyone is interested the Cape train times are all on www.capemetrorail.co.za and browsing the website got me thinking maybe Stellenbosch next?

Leave a Reply

